I am not a writer

Do you know how hard it is to find “not a writer” images? If you google it, all you come up with are disgustingly positive “I’m a writer!!!” pictures.

I’m not really a writer.  In fact, when I was younger, my sister and I neatly split up the academic subjects: I was the math, science, computer, and yearbook nerd.  She was the English, Social studies, writing and pom pom dance squad girl*.  Whether this was just our natural talents, or it was easier to not constantly compete against each other this way, I’m not sure.  In any case, I’ve always disliked writing, and felt I was never really terribly good at it.  This might make you wonder: “So, why in the world is she doing NaBloPoMo?”

Well, it turns out I have a constant need to improve myself, and I have things I want to say.  I’m also someone you could call goal-oriented and stubborn.  Add all this together, along with the fact that my love for the run on sentence tends to make 140 characters pretty stifling, and we’ve got a perfect NaBloPoMo storm.

I’ve written up a tentative schedule for the month: one topic for every day of the week.  This might not be set in stone, but it makes the task less daunting:

  • Sunday – grab bag / random thoughts
  • Monday – meal planning
  • Tuesday – productivity tricks and gadgets
  • Wednesday – books / movies / tv
  • Thursday – my heros
  • Friday – around the web
  • Saturday – adventures in (hopefully healthy) eating

Since the family is gathering in Asheville for Thanksgiving this year, I may need to preload a couple posts for the 2 days that I am making the 11 hour drive there and back, but other than that, I plan to have new posts each day.

I hope writing will turn out like my love for reading:  any time I was assigned a book for school, wild horses couldn’t get me to read it; but left to my own devices, I will bury my nose in a book for hours.

* To her credit, she did always help me out on yearbook until I graduated, though.

Leave a Reply

