Rabbit, Rabbit, Rabbit!

I’ve never really been a superstitious person.  I believe in the wonders of science and logic and superstitions don’t have much place in that world.  In fact, I’m only really superstitious when playing craps, as it’s a requirement for the game, and on the first of the month.

I believe it was my 6th grade math teacher who told our class about the whole ritual of saying “Rabbit, rabbit, rabbit” first thing of the month.  If that’s the first thing out of your mouth on the first of the month, you will have good luck for the rest of the month.  I’m not sure why this stuck in my 11 year old brain, but for as long as I can remember, I’ve either a) said the phrase first thing in the morning, or b) said “dammit!” about 10 am when I realized it was the first of the month and I didn’t say it.

The scientist in me wishes I’d tracked data on whether a month was good or bad, and if I’d extolled the virtues of the bunny immediately upon waking or not.  Alas, I wasn’t that forward-thinking.

However, I didn’t sleep well last night, tossing and turning, and when I finally gave up on quality sleep at 5 am, the thought that it was the first day of the month came to mind, as writing my first post for NaBloPoMo was in my thoughts.  So, “Rabbit, rabbit, rabbit” popped out of my mouth by habit.

Here’s hoping it’s a good month…

Leave a Reply

