Whole60, Day 9

Day 9:  Sept 11th

Today was a reasonably easy day, most likely because my day was pretty meeting-filled.  I did not sleep well at all the night before, and I’m not quite sure why, but while I woke up tired (as usual), that burned itself out pretty quickly.   I wonder if this has anything to do with the new sleep app I’m using, Sleep as Android.  Sleep as Android has an option to “smart wake” you, where it analyzes your sleep patterns and wakes you up at the optimum time in your sleep cycle.   I’m not sold on it yet – but I’ve got a two week trial, and I’m a geek for charts and data and gadgets.

I ate my normal breakfast: poached eggs  (this egg poacher is amazing) and then I wasn’t really even hungry at lunch.  I ended up with a “Magic Meal”: peek in the fridge/freezer and throw a bunch of stuff in the skillet and toss a bunch of spices in.  In this case I had ground beef I’d previously  cooked, and whatever random freezer veggies I had [broccoli and squash], along with steak rub spices, some chili powder and who knows what else.  I let it simmer and warm up while I made some zucchini noodles, and chowed down.

I’d planned on grocery shopping tonight, but at the end of the day, I Just Didn’t Feel Like It.  So, I whipped out my julienne peeler again, and attacked some zucchini and whipped up some Comfort Noodles, and relaxed with a cherry fizz and vegged out on the couch. It was a pretty good day.

2 Responses

  1. I’d never heard of Whole30 until reading your posts… cut to me devouring “It Starts with Food” last night and hitting three grocery stores this morning. I knew I was a food addict, but after reading the science-y bits, I think it could be all the “food with no brakes” that’s really hurting me. Good luck with your Whole60; I took my first steps today.

    • That’s great, K! The book really spoke to me – before I read it, I’ll admit I thought that paleo was kind of hoohah. And eating this way has definitely helped with the cravings and the eating emotionally, because of the structure. I still WANT to eat for a lot of reasons that I don’t/shouldn’t, but if I’m going to stay on my whole60, it’s a lot harder to do that.

      So – great! I’ll warn you, it’s a simple program to follow, but it gets really hard. A lot of people quit around day 10-14 because they just miss too much.

      I’ll try and get a list of my favorite recipes up, but reach out any time if you have questions!

Leave a Reply

