Weekly Recipe List – July 8, 2013

When I started the Whole30, one of the more annoying parts was ALL THE SHOPPING, and then Cooking All The Things.  I found the way to conquer the latter was to do a weekly cookup, and take a couple hours during the weekend, and do as much prep work as possible.  This required me to sit down on a Thursday or Friday and pull together a list o’ recipies for the week.  It actually is a nice little ritual: I pull out my binder o’ paleo recipes, and a cook book or two and start marking down what recipes I’d like to try that week.  I cannot recommend Recipe Distiller enough – it will pull the ingredients from a web page, put them in a shopping list, and even sort by aisle!

As for the shopping part, I ended up running to 3, if not 4, stores on a weekend (Costco, Aldi, Trader Joe’s, Whole Foods, and “the Jewels”) to get all the fixings for the week, as grass-fed meats are expensive if even available at some stores, and me being me, I chose some recipes that had ingredients I couldn’t find in just one place.  So, when a friend of mine mentioned that they were using Door to Door Organics, I decided to sign up as I was looking into signing up for a Community Supported Agriculture (CSA) anyway.  So, now I take a look at what’s in my box, and either make substitutions, or go find new recipes that use the produce for the week.

Side note: if you’re interested in trying door to door, I can create codes for 50% off your first order.  I don’t think I get anything from the company by doing this, but I’m happy to share the love (and the produce!)

I just finished my weekly planning for the week, and I think this may be something I share regularly on Mondays.

Recipes – Week of July 8th

Trader Joe’s Curry Simmer Sauce

Paleo Pad Thai

Roasted Cipollini Onions in Thyme

Ridiculously easy slow-cooker chicken curry with collard greens

Scotch Eggs (from Well Fed)

Marinated Roasted Beets | Nom Nom Paleo

Door to Door order:

(1) Beets, Red bunch (Local)

(1) Collard Greens bunch (Local)

(1) Cipollini Onions with tops (Local)

(1) Green Kale bunch (Local)

(1) Rainbow Greenhouse Tomatoes (Local)

(1) Yellow Squash 0.75LB (Local)

(1) Zucchini Squash 0.75LB (Local)

(1) Cilantro bunch (Local)

 

Leave a Reply

