Gluten-free, sugar-free, all natural chocolate cake

After I got back from Vegas, I was inspired to try an run a half marathon sometime in the next year (although with the way my training is going, it might be the next two, but that’s besides the point).  Part of this was something I’d been thinking about for a while, especially after reading Dr. Joel Fuhrman’s book Eat to Live and seeing that if I made a radical change in my food plan, I could improve my health (and hopefully help ease some of these migrainses I’ve been getting).

So after Vegas, I made the decision to cut out refined grains (anything white, basically), sweets, alcohol, caffeine (except for green tea in the morning), and anmial products.  I’d been pretty close to a lot of this already, I’d cut out dairy, and wasn’t eating much flour or sweets, but I definitely missed my coke zero.

When looking around for vegan ideas for recipies, I stumbled onto Chocolate Covered Katie, who is a vegan that loves chocolate, and loves making deserts healthy.  Her Healthy Deep Dish Cookie Pie recipe came up as a reader favorite, and I couldn’t believe the secret ingredient was chickpeas, and that EVERYONE loved it.  I decided to try it, but since chocolate chips weren’t on my food list, I decided to sub in some cocoa powder instead, and change out the sugar for some dates and agave syrup, as obviously sugar is on the no-fly list as well.  My first try came out a little dry, but still pretty tasty.  The second batch was dead on tasty!  I make a half batch which gives me plenty for 3 mini cakes.

Mini Chocolate Cakes

(based off Katie’s Healthy Deep Dish Cookie Pie recipe)

  • 1 cans white beans or garbanzos (drained and rinsed) 
  • 1/2 cup quick oats
  • 3 T unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 1/2 T canola oil  (next try, i’m just going to use 1/2 c applesauce and omit this to see how it tastes)
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cup agave nectar (or 1/4 c pressed pitted dates – smush them in there)
  • 3 T cocoa powder

Blend everything really well in a food processor (I use my Blend-Tec blender).  Spray 3 or 4 mini cake molds (silicon works great) Cook at 350F for around 25 (or possibly 30) minutes. Let stand at least 10 minutes before removing from the pans.  I top mine with 1/2 c berries nuked in the microwave for a minute to make a compote.

 

You really wouldn’t know the beans were in there if I didn’t tell you!  Gluten-free, too!

Leave a Reply

